Two Crown King EP
Two Crown King’s self-titled EP.

It’s refreshing to see a local band have their shit together, and you can tell Two Crown King have put their all into their new EP. Everything from production to album art is extremely well done on this pop album full of catchy songs. Listeners unfamiliar with TCK may have to give the EP a few listens, however, it makes a statement that this band is serious.

Fuse breaks it down track-by-track.

Two Crown King in studio
In the studio with Two Crown King.
1. We Get Down

We Get Down is a great way to kick this off this little unit. A nice drum intro hooks the listener right away, while holding them for the rest of this song.

Lyrics like ‘Seven days a week I don’t touch no ground’ capture the head space of the band and its fans, while lead singer Sean Goodchild is reminiscent of Tom Gabel. This track is definitely a high note to start off an album.

2. Please Believe Me (featuring Odario Williams)

If we had to pick a favourite song this would be it. Not only because you get the chance to hear the sweet flow of Odario Williams (AKA Grand Analog), but because Scotty Sheid’s keys really stand out as well. It’s also wonderful to see a collaboration like this on an EP. Kudos to these guys for landing that one.

3. Never Trust the Weatherman

I know I sure don’t. Just listen this one.

4. You and I

You and I definitely kicks off like the intro of a Stevie Wonder song, maybe one of his later tracks from Innervisions. Now that I’ve established that, I can tell you the rest of this song continues to build up nicely. Sprinkle a little Jamiroquai-style vocals at the end and you’ve got yourself a well-rounded song.

5. Automatic 

Automatic contains saucy rap breaks courtesy of Adam Dick, which really add to the mood of this song. Listeners could easily picture the video as a car chase… but with K-Cars.

Two Crown King guitarist Ajay Massey.
Guitarist Ajay Massey lays down fresh tracks.
6. Forever. Whatever. Goodbye.

It’s easy to criticize a white male who decides to take up rapping, but Dick pulls it off. You can definitely feel the spark Two Crown King carries. With a funky guitar and bass line it’s the perfect song to end the EP.

Overall this is a fast pace, tight album. It’s apparent these guys have been playing together for a while. Recorded and produced at Jaska Studio in Hamliton, Two Crown King, stepped it up a notch with this one. The album artwork is beautiful, created by Jacqui Oakley.

Two Crown King is:

Ajay Massey – guitar
Adam Dick – rapper
Sean Goodchild – vocals
Jeremy Pimentel – bass
Scotty Sheild – keys
Pat Maloney – drums

Two Crown King in-studio photographs by Cory Downing.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 + 7 =